Happy 4th of July! I hope everyone has been having a great celebratory weekend! If you need some last-minute inspiration for those events you’re going to, here are some ideas. But first, let’s talk tips on how to channel your patriotism without looking like the American flag!

Tips:

  • Do not wear the cheap, cheesy jewelry (that includes the glasses, necklaces, etc.) unless you’re in a parade.
  • Don’t wear the light up battery-operated shirts.
  • If wearing red, blue, and white, be careful. Very careful.
  • Switch up the colors slightly…instead of white, think silver, for example. Think of the unexpected shades of each color. Instead of fire engine red, do coral.
  • A good rule is to only wear 2 of the three colors if you want to be extra careful you don’t look costume-y.
  • As always, have fun and show your style!

 

And onto the outfits:

For the cocktail party, a nice streamlined dress and white shoes will keep you polished, and subtly showing spirit! A clear, slightly chunky necklace adds just the right amount of interest.

Going to a casual barbeque? Classic jean shorts and a feminine top will definitely do the trick.

Want to try the unexpected bit of color I was talking about in a very versatile outfit (meant for “event jumping”)?  Start with a basic shirt tucked into a nice skirt. Then try this necklace, with its almost turquoise hues, and wedges which have a subtle silver to them.

This next look also plays with color. This time, instead of the expected red, we’re going with a chic pink. Wearing this look, you’ll look polished, put together, but also fit for the holiday in a very reserved way. The tank would be tucked into the skirt.

I hoped I sparked your creativity for your outfit(s) readers! Let me know what stylish ensembles you come up with! What am I wearing, you ask (hehe…in my head you did!)? I am planning on wearing a pair of off-white colored shorts with my gray Climbing Cowlneck shirt. I’ll wear cobalt blue flats. As for the rest of the accessories? I’m not quite sure yet. Yes, I do need to figure that out!

Happy 4th of July!

