Inspiration. As I was typing my post yesterday, I realized I was using that word a lot. I thought about it awhile, and I realized discussing it would be a worthwhile post. Consequently, this post is not as directly Anthro as I usually do – no outfits. But it talks about a value I think the people at Anthro would agree with and I believe they subscribe by. I get that this may be sounding really deep so far! Please don’t be scared!

Let’s start with the definition (from http://dictionary.reference.com/):

in-spi-ra-tion (in-spuhrey-shuh n)

noun

1. an inspiring or animating action or influence: I cannot write poetry without inspiration.

2. something inspired, as an idea.
3. a result of inspired activity.
 
4. a thing or person that inspires.
 
5. Theology .
     a. a divine influence directly and immediately exerted upon the mind or soul.
     b. the divine quality of the writings or words of a person so influenced.
 
6. the drawing of air into the lungs; inhalation.
 
7. the act of inspiring; quality or state of being inspired.
 
 
Where do you get inspired? For me, I’m inspired by so much.  Sometimes, I’m driving in a car and look out and see a gorgeous sunset. Daily, I’m inspired by some incredible fashion and food bloggers (and man, if you saw my loooong list of blogs I visit daily, you’d be amazed!). I’m inspired incredibly often through photographs. Little everyday objects and scenes enthrall me. To sum it up, I can’t pinpoint everything that inspires me.
 
There are so many times I wish I had a camera to capture inspiration. But at the same time, it can’t always be done that way. Inspiration has a way of being spontaneous. Sometimes it needs to be captured in your head. And the good thing about that “method” is that it’s sure to serve as inspiration, rather than a too literal translation (if we’re talking about making something using inspiration, for example).
 
What does it take to get inspired? I think this is an important point. You have to willingly open yourself up to get inspiration. You can’t be close minded. You have to look past the obvious. I, for example, can find a great deal of beauty in things other people find ugly. In the same sense, I’m sure I don’t appreciate beauty in things other people can. It’s something everyone in my opinion should work on doing more often. I’m reminded of a quote from Einstein: “He who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead, his eyes are closed.” (If you’re wondering where I heard this quote: My 6th grade science teacher had us pick at the meaning behind many of Einstein’s quotes…looking back, he had quite the man crush on Einstein…hehe). This quote to me really relates to finding inspiration. Even if it’s not telling you to find inspiration you’re going to directly use (making a garment, for example), it gives the message one should never lose the sense of wonder within them.
 
How does any of this relate to Anthropologie? Well for one, they have The Anthropologist which is all about inspiration. Here are some snippets from the “about” page: “The Anthropologist is an online space for inspiring works and inspiring individuals…Our premise is simple: we illuminate those who move us in order to move you. We champion the idea that sharing sources of creativity in turn kindles it.” Secondly, I think all of their clothing has a sense of wonder. It’s unique. Of course I’m biased and all, being the Anthropologie Connoisseur, but I still wholeheartedly believe it. Also, if you walk into any of their stores or glance at a window display, you can’t help but be amazed at how they present themself. They have such a unique vibe, their own niche in this big world we call fashion.
 
I decided to compile a small list of some of the things I’m inspired by. It doesn’t even cover a tiny fraction of it though.
  • sunsets
  • beaches
  • different cultures
  • trees
  • shadows
  • fashion bloggers
  • food bloggers
  • everyday people
  • my family
  • travel (this is a big one)
  • nature
  • natural beauty (I guess that is sort of covered by the last one)
  • Anthropologie
  • runways
  • fashion
  • interior design
  • happy people
  • photographers
  • photographs
  • and so, so, so, sooooo much more
 
I hope all of this gabbing about inspiration wasn’t too boring for you, and maybe even inspiring! I ask you, fellow readers, what are you inspired by? What captures you?
