Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Note: If you have not watched the Project Runway season finale, but still plan on doing so, do NOT read this post! Spoilers!!!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I said yesterday how I was disappointed in who the winner of this year’s Project Runway is. That is, I was cheering on Mondo! I did agree with the judges that the top two were Gretchen and Mondo, as hard as it is for me to admit that, considering Gretchen’s nasty persona over the course of the season. However, I put my feelings about each designer as a person aside, and I still believe Mondo should have won.

Yes, there were strong points from each collection. Shall I show you a few of my favorites?

To be honest, I could pull quite a few other favorites from Mondo’s collection! I loved the addition of the colorful belts!

Gretchen’s effortless vibe was great, as were many of the backs of the garments. Some of the pieces walked great on the runway too. However, the diapers?! Just not for me!

Which other looks did you readers like?

The Deliberation: GO, HEIDI, GO! Although I don’t always agree with her, I couldn’t help but really respect the way should stood up for Mondo. I definitely respect Michael and Nina, but I didn’t like how they criticized Heidi’s argument that so many of Mondo’s pieces were wearable, but then they went right on to say individual pieces of Gretchen’s were too (Michael said something to the effect of, “We’re not here to restyle¬†their clothing!”)! Also, they criticized Gretchen’s mini collection in the previous episode, saying it was not high fashion enough. She amped it up a little, but not much, and Michael and Nina praised her for her ready-to-wear aesthetic. To me, it was all a bit hypocritical.

Ah, the infamous polka dot dress. I was actually glad Mondo decided to still use it instead of the solid black dress. Yes, it is a very daring dress, but on the right person, it could be stunning!

So: When it’s all said and done, who do you think should have won, and why? All opinions welcome!

(all photos from here)

