Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Before the Oscars, before even the red carpet, on E!’s pre-red carpet show George Kotsiopoulos (of Fashion Police…he’s a stylist as well) gave his picks for what a few stars should wear. I think, for the most part, he did an excellent job! And so, I only see it fitting to look at what could have been at the Oscars, as well as what actually was…

First up, Nicole Kidman. This is what could have been:

Armani Privé Spring 2011 Couture

Armani Privé Spring 2011

Obviously, Nicole would do without the hat, and she could even switch up the shoe color for something more classically her (i.e. less contrast). I love the structure of this…and wouldn’t the color just be absolutely tremendous on her?!

But, this is what Nicole ended up wearing:

No doubt, I believe George’s pick would have worked a lot better! What do you think?

Next up is Mila Kunis. This is what could have been…

Elie Saab Spring 2011 Couture

Elie Saab Couture Spring 2011

I love the blush tone of this…it would be so different from what Mila wore to the Oscars and SAGs. There’s also no denying that this is one stunning dress.

Interestingly enough, although Mila didn’t wear this exact gown, she did wear Elie Saab Couture. In fact, what she wore was from the exact same collection! Here’s the runway shot:

Elie Saab Spring 2011 Couture

And here is Mila in the dress:

I actually quite like both George’s pick and what she ended up going with. Which do you prefer?

Reese Witherspoon is next! Here’s what could have been…

Derek Lam Fall 2011 Ready-to-Wear

Derek Lam Fall 2011

I love, love, love, love this! Between the leather top and the gorgeous, flowing bottom, it’s total adoration! Imagine how great this could work for Reese – my only concern is that Reese might not be tall enough to pull this off (not that I know her height, but she seems to be on the shorter side). That’s not saying it couldn’t work…just that it has the possibility not to!

Here’s what Reese actually wore:

For me, there is no contest! I much prefer George’s pick! Which do you prefer?

And finally, Natalie Portman. This is what could have been…

Alexis Mabille Spring 2011 Couture

Alexis Mabille Spring 2011 Couture

This would definitely have worked on Natalie’s pregnant frame! There wouldn’t be any wrinkling fiascos, like there were with Natalie’s SAGs dress!

This is what Natalie actually wore:

I think both George’s pick and what Natalie ended up wearing would suit/suited her well! It’s a tough pick…which do you prefer?

That wraps up this post! I hope this was fun and interesting for you…it sure was for me!

(runway images from here)

