Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ll admit right off the bat that I didn’t even watch the ACM Awards last night. However, award shows mean fashion, and fashion means discussion here! So shall we look at a recap of what was worn last night?

Taylor Swift – Am I blown away by this? Does my jaw drop? No. No, not at all. But at the same time, I’m not going to criticize her either…she did a nice, sophisticated take on her usual style. But wouldn’t it be nice to see her step outside her comfort zone some?

Miranda Lambert – Personally, I’m not a fan of this. To me, it looks safe, but even worse than that, cheap. The top doesn’t seem to quite fit her right either.

Martina McBride – Again, this is just safe, safe, safe! The earrings don’t totally work for me either…I think they draw too much attention.

Reba McEntire – This is just weirdly gothic. Enough said.

Julianne Hough – Obviously, Julianne is a beautiful woman, but this just doesn’t flatter her! The cut makes her look short and just a bit awkward. This just doesn’t work for me.

Diana DeGarmo – Okay…I think this was right in theory, but in actuality, it just doesn’t work. The hair combined with the borderline prom-worthy hair makes for an unfortunate look. I don’t think the color suited her.

Laura Bell Bundy – Sure, on first glance, this looks nice. HOWEVER, guess what?! I thought this dress looked familiar and after sleuthing around on the internet, in little time I realized who I had seen it on before…Mya at this year’s Grammy’s. That’s less than two months ago! For me, this is way too soon to be repeating dresses!

By the way, here is Mya in the dress, for reference:

But moving on, back to the recap…

Brooklyn Decker – This is definitely a pretty, sophisticated look. But don’t you think it’s more suited for a luncheon? I just feel it’s a bit out of place, even though it is a great look.

Nicole Kidman – I appreciate that Nicole went for an edgier look, even though it’s still in her safety net of black. Do I think the risk totally paid off? No. She does look pretty great though!

Carrie Underwood – This is probably my favorite look of the night, even though I must admit I’m not head-over-heels swooning over it. It definitely is a gorgeous look on Carrie though!

 As you can probably gather, I really wasn’t wowed by anyone. Maybe I’m just being harsh, but I really just think many could have done better. What do you think?

And please, if you would: 1) vote for your best dressed, and 2) vote for one lady’s look to be used as inspiration for a styling! Thanks! (And please share your thoughts in the comments!!!)

 

 (images from here and here)
