Tags

, , , , , , ,

Next up in my recap of my vacation is Bonaire…

Do you SEE this water?! Isn't it magnificent?!!

 

 

I know this picture turned out kind of dark, but don't let that detract from the natural beauty...

 

Again, that water...

 

A lake...

 

Hey, little flamingos!

Bonaire was an interesting contrast to the first three islands I visited (St. Thomas, Dominica, Grenada). Unlike their lush, hilly, tropical landscape, Bonaire was flat and dry (with many, many cacti!). But don’t let that sound like a negative…it wasn’t…but rather, it was different.

In Bonaire, I went on a 12 mile bicycle ride. …And that turned out to not be the best idea I’ve ever had, considering how hot it was! I really, really wish I would have snorkeled in Bonaire, because, um, did you not see the water in my pictures?! It was breathtaking. I talked to some people on the cruise ship who said they went snorkeling just off of a beach, without a tour company, and said they saw multitudes of underwater delight.

Don’t get me wrong though – I still did enjoy the bike riding…I got to see some beautiful scenery and some flamingos. Apparently usually there are tons of flamingos, but because of the heat, there were only a few (you can see some of them in the last picture).

Any of you been to Bonaire? Do share! And if any of you are considering going, I’d be glad to discuss more with you (or if you just want to know more too!)!

Happy Weekend!

