Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, in my Mid-Week-Pick-Me-Up link share, I pointed out some Nutella Cheesecake Layer Bars that had my name written all over them. I mean, hello?!?! Nutella…and…cheesecake…YUM! I mentioned that there would be a good chance I would be making the bars soon.

Well guess what? I made them already. From internet to reality, they’re now sitting in my stomach fridge.

Don't they look glorious?!

Ready for a little “tour” of these puppies? Have a look…you might want to hold your jaw up before you start looking so as to keep the drooling from the mouthwatering you’ll surely experience to a minimum…

that's headed straight to my mouth! *swallowed*

...going in for another bite...

...*swallowed*....time for another bite...

POOF...all gone! (don't worry...those crumbs were licked right up!)

I’m sure most of you are wondering, “SO?! How were they?!?!?!!?!?”

Well, they were good. Pretty darn good. Are they my favorite dessert ever? No. Then again, though, I do bake super-duper often, so I’m probably more jaded than some of you. Anyways, I still think you should give them a try! (And, of course, then tell me what you think of them!) And in terms of level of difficulty…these aren’t bad at all. Don’t be intimidated at all!

*Some of you may not know this, but second to fashion, my heart lies with baking (and cooking, to an extent). While I don’t normally share recipes, I thought I would today because I did mention these bad boys to you yesterday.

.

Nutella Cheesecake Layer Bars

adapted from The Moonlight Baker (blog)

.

8 chocolate Graham Crackers (I’m guessing a chocolate wafer cookie – no frosting – would work well too)

1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

16 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

2 eggs, room temperature

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup and 1 tablespoon heavy cream (divided)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons Nutella

.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

Grease an 8-inch-by-8-inch pan. Line with foil down the middle with an overhang on two opposite sides. Grease once more.

In a food processor, crush the Graham crackers until they’re in fine crumbs. Add the cooled, melted butter and continue pulsing until evenly combined.

Evenly press the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. Bake for about 12 minutes, or until set. Allow to cool.

In a large mixing bowl, combine with an electric mixer until combined and smooth the room temperature cream cheese, room temperature eggs, sugar, 1/4 cup heavy cream, and vanilla extract. Remove about 1/3 of the mixture and place in a separate bowl (you can merely eyeball it or get fancy and use your kitchen scale).

In the new bowl with 1/3 of the mixture, add 1 tablespoon heavy cream and all of the Nutella. Mix until incorporated.

Carefully, using a spatula, spread the vanilla cheesecake batter over the cooled crust. Put the Nutella cheesecake batter over top in dollops, so as to make it easier to spread without mixing the two layers. Then, evenly and gently spread the Nutella layer.

Bake in the oven for about 35-40 minutes, or until just the middle of the bars jiggle when the pan is moved. The edges may crack some and move away from the edges of the pan – this is fine.

Allow to cool and refrigerate for about 3 hours (if you can wait that long). Using the tin foil handles, remove the bars from the pan and slice into however big of pieces you wish – I won’t judge! Enjoy!

