Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve made it pretty clear that I have a huge sweet tooth and adore baking. Seriously, if I could, I would live off of sweets. True fact.

Lately though, I’ve been feeling the need to cut back a bit on my consumption of sweets. It’s not that I’m in a dash to lose weight, but rather, I just think my body would appreciate a tad less sugar. And when I say that, I do and also don’t mean it…you see, my stomach/heart/mind all want more sweets, but the logical part of my brain knows my body could appreciate a tad less fat and sweets. Make sense?

Now trust me…I am all for living a balanced life without depriving yourself…and this usually, to me, would mean eating sweets everyday.

I challenged myself yesterday to go two days without any sweets. Why? 1) It’s a challenge! 2) I don’t know the last time I went this long without sweets.

(Yes, I know…for some of you this probably seems pretty (beyond!) pathetic!)

The goal? Train myself to realize I don’t need to indulge quite as much as I’ve grown accustomed to lately. This means, sure, I can have dessert everyday, but rather than three cookies at a time, why not stick with one (okay…maybe one and a half! :). I think my body will thank me in the long haul.

Anyways, all of that was purely an introduction to what I really want to discuss today! You see, I decided to peruse Tastespotting, a site which is terribly addicting in the best way possible (I would tell myself to look at just one more page, then ten pages later I’d say just one more page, then ten pages later I’d say just one more page…get the picture?!). This visit, however, I told myself to do my best to ignore the decadent desserts I usually swoon over. Instead, I would focus on the main dishes…the main courses as opposed to the sweets.

And my goodness! I made tons of yummy looking discoveries! Seriously!

(*For the record, I did look at a few desserts, but only because they looked insanely unique. I had to!)

Want to see some of what I found? Yes? Yay! Now just to be clear, I have not (yet!) made any of these recipes, so I cannot tell you for sure that they taste just as good as they seem. In other words, if you make one and hate it, I’m sorry! But hopefully it would instead be a reaction of pure bliss! 🙂

On to the discoveries…

Pumpkin Gnocchi with Hazelnut Browned Butter – pumpkin? gnocchi? hazelnuts? browned butter? <- all of that, combined? *faints*

Butternut Squash and Lentil Pot Pie – I love me a good pot pie…and butternut squash with lentils? I’m intrigued! I’m guessing the butternut squash would add a creaminess similar to a more traditional chicken pot pie.

Chickpea & Cardamom Rice with Carrots and Za’atar Oil – Chickpeas….cardamom…carrots…rice…topped with Greek yogurt? Sounds like a not too heavy, scrumptious dish!

Pasta with Sage-Walnut Pesto, Winter Squash and Brussels Sprouts – Pasta, sage pesto, squash, and brussels sprouts (yes, I like them!)? Seems like a delicious fall/winter combination!

Chicken Sandwich with Mango Curry – Let’s be honest…chicken sandwiches can either be pretty mediocre…it’s rare you find an extremely outstanding one. But a chicken sandwich with mango curry?! Now that sounds promising!

Butternut Squash Mac n’ Cheese – I find this one quite intriguing…I mean, you doesn’t like macaroni and cheese?! Add in the butternut squash, which I’m a fan of?! Could be to-die-for!

Cannellini Bean Vegetarian “Meatballs” with Tomato Sauce – I, myself, don’t eat a ton of meat, but my sister is a complete vegetarian. When I saw this recipe, I thought, “I must show this to my sister!” We have a fabulous spaghetti family recipe that’s been passed down, and while I can still enjoy the meatballs, being a meat-eater and all, my sister cannot. Perhaps she could try these “meatballs” with our sauce recipe?!

Pumpkin Lasagna with Roasted Butternut Squash – Pumpkin lasagna?! With butternut squash, ricotta, and mozzarella? Yum! I’m not a huge lover of a traditional lasagna, but I love variations like this one!

Guacamole Tostadas – Avocados are my favorite food. Naturally, I adore guacamole. And naturally, I love the fact that this recipe gives me the excuse to pretty much make guacamole a main dish, as opposed to as side dish! Hooray!

Spicy Pumpkin Hummus – Hummus is a fabulous snack…so pumpkin hummus? I’m sure even more fabulous!

Butternut Squash, Balsamic Onions, & Ricotta Galette – Butternut squash, onions, and ricotta…as a galette! Yum, yum!

Sweet Potato Kale Pizza with Rosemary and Red Onion – I love kale. I love rosemary. Sweet potatoes are pretty darn sweet. And red onion is quite yummy too. So all of this, on a pizza? Yes, please!

And now, a couple of desserts that sneaked their way into the mix (trust me…had I not restrained myself, this list would be miles long!)…

Ginger Coconut Macadamia Nut Dark Chocolate Bark – When I saw this recipe out of the corner of my eye, I knew it screamed my mom’s name. She adores dark chocolate, and she adores ginger. Why not make this as is, but instead of the macadamia nuts, substitute in hazelnuts (a nut she prefers)?! Sounds like a plan for the future!

Matcha Green Tea Castella Cake – This cake has such a striking, unique, pretty appearance, with its soft green color. Truth be told, I’ve never had something like this before, but I’d absolutely love to try it!

Tell me…which of these dishes stand out to you the most?! I’d love to hear!(And by the way, I know there was quite a lot of butternut squash and pumpkin…I think the two most definitely are popular ingredients right now given the season!)  And of course, if you decide to make any of the recipes, tell me how they turn out!

